PREFERENTIAL and SPECIALIZED ASSESSMENT PROGRAMS

The Agricultural Preferential Assessment program is
available for certain property owners of agricultural
property. The property is assessed at 30% of fair market
value rather than 40% of fair market. The property owner
must enter a 10-year covenant with the board of assessors
and penalties may apply if the covenant is breached.

The Conservation Use Assessment program provides for an
assessment based on a statutory ‘use-value’ as opposed to
an assessment based on ‘fair market value.” Qualified
properties include certain agricultural land, timber land ,
environmentally  sensitive property, or residential
transitional property. The property owner must enter a 10-
year covenant with the board of assessors and penalties
may apply if the covenant is breached.

Forest Land Conservation Use Assessment provides for an
ad valorem tax exemption for property primarily used for
the production of trees, timber, or wood fiber products. The
property may have secondary uses such as the promotion,
preservation, or management of wildlife habitat; carbon
sequestration; mitigation and conservation banking ; or the
production and maintenance of ecosystem products . This
15-year covenant agreement between the taxpayer and
local board of assessors is limited to forest land tracts
consisting of more than 200 acres. Penalties may apply if
the covenant is breached.

Rehabilitated and Landmark Historic Assessment includes
property that qualify for listing on the Georgia or National
Register of Historic Places. This preferential assessment
extends to the building and no more than two acres.
Property under this special program must be certified by the
Department of Natural Resources as rehabilitated historic
property or landmark historic property. The exemption
equals the difference between current fair market value and
the higher of the acquisition cost or assessment of fair
market value at the time the original 10-year covenant was
entered.

Brownfield Property Assessment includes property which
qualifies for participation in the State’s Hazardous Site Reuse
and Redevelopment Program and which has been
designated as such by the Environmental Protection Division
of the Department of Natural Resources. This program
effectively freezes the taxable assessment for ten years as
an incentive for developers to clean up contaminated
property and return it to the tax rolls. It allows eligible
owners to recoup the certain costs associated with the
cleanup.

ASSESSMENT APPEALS

The Board of Tax Assessors is required to issue a notice of
assessment for taxable tangible real and personal property.
Upon receipt of this notice, the property owner desiring to
appeal the assessment may do so within 45 days. The
appeal may be based on taxability, value, uniformity, and/or
the denial of an exemption. The written appeal is filed
initially with the Board of Tax Assessors. The state of
Georgia provides a uniform appeal form for use by property
owners. In that initial written dispute, the property owner
must declare their chosen method of appeal.

The three methods of appeal include:

Board of Equalization: The appeal is filed by the property
owner and reviewed by the board of assessors. The board
of assessors may change the assessment and send a new
notice. The property owner may appeal the amended notice
within 30 days. The appeal of the amended notice or any
initial appeal which is not amended by the board of
assessors is automatically forwarded to the Board of
Equalization. A hearing is scheduled and conducted and the
Board of Equalization renders its decision. If the taxpayer is
still dissatisfied, an appeal to Superior Court may be made.

Hearing Officer: The taxpayer may appeal to a Hearing
Officer, who is a certified appraiser, when the issue of the
appeal is the value or uniformity of assessment of non-
homestead real property with a value greater than
$750,000. or certain wireless property with an aggregate
value greater than $750,000 as shown on the annual notice
of current assessment. If the taxpayer is still dissatisfied, an
appeal to Superior Court may be made.

Arbitration: An Arbitration appeal is filed with the board of
assessors. The taxpayer must submit a certified appraisal of
the subject property which the board of assessors may
accept or reject. If the taxpayers appraisal is rejected the
board of assessors must certify the appeal to the county
clerk of superior court for arbitration.  The arbitrator will
issue a decision at the conclusion of the hearing. If the
taxpayer is still dissatisfied, an appeal to Superior Court may
be made.
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Ad valorem tax, more commonly known as property tax, is a
large source of revenue for local governments in Georgia.
The basis for ad valorem taxation is either the current use
value or in most cases the fair market value, which is
established as of January 1 of each year. The tax is levied on
the assessed value of the property which, by law, is
established at 40% of value. The amount of tax is
determined by the tax rate (mill rate) levied by various
entities (one mill is equal to $1.00 for each $1,000 of
assessed value, or .001).

Entities involved in ad valorem taxation:

The County Tax Commissioner, an office established by the
Constitution and elected in all counties except one, is the
official responsible for receiving tax returns filed by
taxpayers or designating the board of tax assessors to
receive them; receiving and processing applications for
homestead exemption; serving as agent of the State
Revenue Commissioner for the registration of motor
vehicles; and performing all functions relating to billing,
collecting, disbursing and accounting for ad valorem taxes
collected on behalf of the county, county school and State of
Georgia.

The County Board of Tax Assessors, appointed by the county
governing authority in all counties except one, is responsible
for determining what property is taxable and seeing that
properties are appraised and assessed fairly and equally so
that each taxpayer pays as nearly as possible only such
taxpayer's proportionate share of tax. The board notifies
taxpayers of their real property assessments annually and
when changes are made to the value of personal property;
they approve all exemption applications; and they receive,
review, and process appeals filed by taxpayers.

The County Board of Equalization, appointed by the Grand
Jury, is the body charged by law with hearing and
adjudicating  administrative  appeals to  property
assessments made by the board of tax assessors. The
appeal process available to taxpayers also includes Hearing
Officers and Arbitration in lieu of an appeal to the board of
equalization .

The Board of County Commissioners or County Governing
Authority (or the sole Commissioner in some counties), an
elected body, who establish the budget for county
government operations each year, and then adopt the mill
rate necessary to fund the portion of the budget to be paid
for by ad valorem tax.

The County Board of Education establishes the annual
budget for school purposes and they then recommend their
mill rate, which, with very few exceptions, must be levied for
the school board by the county governing authority.

The State Revenue Commissioner exercises general
oversight of the entire ad valorem tax process which
includes annual audits of tax assessors and tax
commissioners and the approval of county tax digests.

TAX RETURNS

Taxpayers are required to file at least an initial tax return for
taxable property (both real and personal property) owned
on January 1 of the tax year. In all counties, the time for
filing returns is January 1 through April 1", Returns are filed
with either the Tax Commissioner or the Tax Assessor. The
tax return is a descriptive listing of the property owned by
the taxpayer which includes the taxpayer’s declaration of
the value of the property.

Once the initial tax return is filed, the law provides for an
automatic renewal of that return each succeeding year at
the value finally determined for the preceding year and the
taxpayer is required to file a new return only as additional
property is acquired, improvements are made to existing
property, or other changes occur. A new return, filed during
the return period, may also be made by the taxpayer to
declare a different value from the existing value where the
taxpayer is dissatisfied with the current value placed on the
property by the board of tax assessors.

HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS

Various homestead exemptions have been enacted to
reduce the burden of ad valorem taxation for Georgia
homeowners. The exemptions apply to property owned by
the taxpayer and claimed as his or her legal residence.

Applications for Homestead Exemption: An applicant
seeking a homestead exemption shall file a written
application with the County Tax Commissioner at any time
during the calendar year subsequent to the property
becoming the primary residence of the applicant up to and
including April 1, for which the exemption is
sought. Homestead applications received after that date
may be applied to the next year’s tax bill. Once granted, the
homestead exemption is automatically renewed each year
and the taxpayer does not have to apply again unless there
is a change of ownership, a new deed filed, trust created,
mortgage refinance or the taxpayer seeks to qualify for a
different exemption.

Local Homestead Exemptions: Under authority of the State
Constitution several different types of homestead
exemptions are provided. In addition, local governments
are authorized to provide for increased exemption amounts
and several have done so. The tax commissioner in your
county can answer gquestions regarding the standard state
exemptions as well as any local exemptions that are in place.

(L3) The Local Elderly Homestead Exemption is an
increased homestead exemption for homeowners 62 and
older where the net income of the applicant and spouse
does not exceed $15,000 for the preceding year. Social
Security income and certain retirement income are excluded
from the calculation of the income threshold. This
exemption applies to school tax including taxes levied to
retire bonded indebtedness. The amount of the exemption
is up to $40,000 deducted from the 40% assessed value of
the homestead property. Proof of income and date of birth
are required. The exemption automatically renews as long as
no change occurs in income or ownership (new deed filed).

(L5) The Local Disability Homestead Exemption is available
to the totally disabled homeowner/s who have a combined
annual household net income that is not greater than
$15,000. Proof of income, social security number(s) and
affidavits from two physicians are required. This exemption
allows for a county and school exemption of $40,000.
Renewal is automatic as long as no change occurs in
disability status, income or ownership.

(L) The Local School Tax Exemption i sa vailablet o
homeowner(s) 70 years of age or older by January 1 of the
qualifying year. This exemption is from all school and school
bond taxes and automatically renews each year as long as
no change in ownership or new deed is filed. This
exemption is for the home and up to 3 acres of land. Proof
of age is required .

(51) The Standard Homestead Exemption is available to all
homeowners who otherwise qualify by ownership and
residency requirements and it is an amount equal toe $2,000
which is deducted from the 40% assessed value of the
homestead property. The exemption applies to the
maintenance and operation portion of the mill rate levy of
the county and the county school system. It does not apply
to the portion of the mill rate levied to retire bonded
indebtedness.

(S5) The Disabled Veterans Homestead Exemption is
available to certain disabled veterans or un-remarried
spouses or minor children in an amount equal to $60,000
plus an economic indicator provided by the Department of
Veterans Affairs. Such exemption amount is deducted from
the 40% assessed value of the homestead property and
applies to all ad valorem tax levies. However, it is restricted
to certain types of very serious disabilities and specific proof
of disability, either from the Veterans Administration or
from a private physician, is required.

(5S) The Surviving Spouse of Member of Armed Forces
killed in Action Exemption is available to the un-remarried
surviving spouse of a member of the armed forces of the
United States who was killed in or who died as a result of
any war or armed conflict engaged in by the United States.
The surviving spouse  must furnish  appropriate
documentation from the Department of Defense that
spousal benefits are received as a result of the death of the
armed forces member.

(SG) Peace Officer or Firefighter Homestead Exemption is
available for the surviving spouse of a peace officer or
firefighter who was killed in the line of duty. The surviving
spouse is exempt from the full value of the homestead with
respect to all ad valorem.

Approval or Denial of Homestead: With respect to all of
the homestead exemptions, the board of tax assessors
makes the determination as to eligibility; however, if the
application is denied the taxpayer must be notified and an
appeal procedure then is available for the taxpayer.

Note: All Homestead Exemptions must be applied for in
writing. They are not automatic.



